Becoming Who We Are: A Trans Anthology


Independent Bookstore Day products are available for preorder. They will be shipped on April 27th, Independent Bookstore Day.

by Sammy Lisel & Lilah Sturges
edited by Sammy Lisel & Hazel Newlevant
illustrated by Cynthia Yuan Cheng, Hazel Newlevant, Naomi Rubin, Victor Marins, Sunmi, Ravi Teixeira, Higu Rose, and Kameron White

Real Stories About Growing Up Trans.

Nine members of the trans community share their real-life childhood experiences, which include much more than just their gender journeys. Their courageous yet relatable stories will inspire readers as they see these musicians, teachers, scientists and activists overcome the various challenges of growing up to discover who they truly are. This Independent Bookstore Day exclusive edition comes with a foil logo and a fold in poster of the cover art.

Diamond Book Distributors | 2024

Lilah Sturges is the writer of numerous comics, including the PRISM Award-winning Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass and The Magicians and Legendary Comics’ upcoming The Science of Ghosts, as well as many other titles from DC, Marvel, IDW, and others. She lives in Austin, Texas, with two daughters and two cats.

Hazel Newlevant is a Portland-raised, Brooklyn-residing cartoonist. Their comics include If This Be Sin, Tender-Hearted, Sugar Town, and No Ivy League. They edited and published the anthologies Chainmail Bikini and Comics For Choice. They co-edited the anthology Puerto Rico Strong, published by Lion Forge Comics, which received an Eisner Award. Their comics have been honored with the Ignatz Award, Xeric Grant and the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant. They are currently the social media manager of A Wave Blue World. They like to dance around, alone or with others.

In stock

You may also like…