Lilith’s Brood


by Octavia E. Butler

The acclaimed trilogy that comprises Lilith’s Brood is Hugo and Nebula award-winner Octavia E. Butler at her best.

For the first time, Butler’s gripping trilogy–“Dawn, Adulthood Rites“, and “Imago“–are presented in one omnibus, with an introduction by Joan Slonczewski, Ph.D. Butler relates the story of an alien race that comes to Earth after a nuclear holocaust and merges genetically with the human survivors. Lilith’s Brood is a profoundly evocative, sensual — and disturbing — epic of human transformation.

Lilith Iyapo is in the Andes, mourning the death of her family, when war destroys Earth. Centuries later, she is resurrected — by miraculously powerful unearthly beings, the Oankali. Driven by an irresistible need to heal others, the Oankali are rescuing our dying planet by merging genetically with mankind. But Lilith and all humanity must now share the world with uncanny, unimaginably alien creatures: their own children. This is their story…

Paperback | 752 pages | Grand Central Publishing | 2000

In stock

You may also like…